World Outreach: Leadership



George Carey Director (until 1/2015)
Phil Linton Director Elect
Dick Oestreicher Director's Advisor
Patti Moore Administrative Assistant
Amy Rose  Finance Assistant
Diann Pendell Project Assistant
Annette Minard  EPC Director of Finance
Gerri Sutherland EPC Finance Assistant

(World Outreach finances are handled through the Office of the General Assembly.)


Bruce A International Theological Education Network (ITEN) Coordinator
Rob A Muslim Ministry Advisor
Don Kearby Western US Associate for Missions Advancement Engage 2025 Mobilization
Greg K Muslim Field Coordinator
John Maurer Business as Missions (BAM) Coordinator
Jim Murphy & Barbie Murphy Missionary Member Care Coordinators
 Shawn Stewart Recruitment Coordinator
Phil Thrash Eastern US Associate for Missions Advancement, Engage 2025 Mobilization and Missionary Prayer Network Coordinator
Dan Tidwell WO Communication Coordinator and (ITEN team)
 Brandon W Team Development Coordinator
Mark V Central US Associate for Missions Advancement Engage 2025 Mobilization
Stephen Woodworth International Theological Education Network (ITEN) Associate Coordinator

World Outreach Committee - (WOC):

The World Outreach Committee of the Evangelical Presbyterian Church has been established by the General Assembly as one of its permanent committees. Membership on the committee is through election by the General Assembly of six ruling elders and three teaching elders, plus the Stated Clerk, Moderator and Moderator-Elect of the EPC.

The relationship of the WOC to the presbyteries and sessions of the denomination is defined by the duties assigned to the WOC by the General Assembly. The World Outreach Committee’s broad task is to provide leadership and consultation for the EPC in developing a mission program and in seeking to develop and strengthen a mission spirit across the denomination, enabling the EPC to be a mission church in belief and in action.

Current members of the World Outreach Committee include: 


Jeff Jeremiah, Stated Clerk Gordon Miller, Moderator
Ed McCallum, Assistant Stated Clerk
Brad Buescher Ken Roesler
Phil Castor Betsy Rumer
Carroll Coakley Sheryl Smith
Kevin Cauley Doug Thompson, Chairman
Al Johnson



In order to facilitate the work of sending and support missionaries on the field, the World Outreach has established a Personnel Committee. The responsibilities of this committee include the approval of candidates for mission service in the EPC, the evaluation of current missionaries, and the approval of Terms of Call (financial support package) for current missionaries.

Current members of the Personnel Committee include: 

Malcolm Bain Emily Reid
Thom Burbridge Doug Thompson, Chairman
Carroll Coakley , Assistant Stated Clerk 
Phyllis Ellsworth

The mission and goals of World Outreach are ones we share in partnership with the presbyteries and churches of the EPC. Current chairmen of presbytery World Outreach committees, or presbytery missions contact persons include:


Bruce Allison, Stated Clerk Mike Frison, World Outreach
Alleghenies Presbytery Midwest Presbytery
Dennis Flach, World Outreach Carolyn Nystrom, Stated Clerk
Central South Presbytery Rivers and Lakes Presbytery
Ron Meyer, Stated Clerk Ronald Bengelink, Stated Clerk
East Presbytery Pacific Presbytery
Bob Garment, Stated Clerk Alan Wildsmith , World Outreach
Florida Presbytery Southeast Presbytery
Dexter Kuhlman, Stated Clerk Rev. Gene Kissinger, World Outreach
Mid-America Presbytery West Presbytery
Howard Shockley, Stated Clerk
Mid-Atlantic Presbytery


 Back to Top